Etiquette Hell

Forum Administration => Glitches, errors, problems => Topic started by: Ehelldame on April 05, 2007, 05:18:42 PM

Title: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Ehelldame on April 05, 2007, 05:18:42 PM
...assuming you haven't been banned.  But if you were, the forum software wold give you polite message that you were banned when you tried to access the forum. 

But for those people whose home computers cannot seem to access the domain or forum at all, try this test....

Below are instructions for testing whether your DNS has received the correct information for resolving the address of www.etiquettehell.com.


Under Windows, press the Start button.


Select Run.


Type CMD and press enter.


At C:> prompt, type nslookup www.etiquettehell.com and press enter


The result should look something like:
C:\>nslookup www.etiquettehell.com
Server:  dslrouter
Address:  192.168.1.254
Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    etiquettehell.com
Address:  72.21.37.206
Aliases:  www.etiquettehell.com


The numeric Address entry under the Name entry should read 72.21.37.206 if your DNS server has received the update.

If you are not getting this, the DNS name change has not yet propagated to your name server and you might need to contact your provider to find out why this has not yet occurred. 
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Ehelldame on April 06, 2007, 07:26:05 AM
From Sparksals in another thread:

I have had the same problem for the last few days.  I had access from my home computer, then none, then got in and then shut out again.  This is the answer I got after some digging:

Go to start -> Run -> type cmd -> and then type ipconfig/flushdns

The information may not have left the DNS server at your ISP.  The above command will clear it out.  I didn't have to reboot either.  FWIW, I'm using Qwest, so I know Twik isn't since she's in CAnada, so it's not a single ISP issue.

Hope this helps for others!

Edited to add from Sparksals:


I finally solved the problem after being in tech chat with my ISP thinking that there was an IP problem.  It was so frustrating not figuring this out.  The tech guy had me reset my modem as temp files can be stored in there.  I didn't know that.  Anyway, that didn't work. 
 
I searched help forums for SMF and posted  a question.  They gave me a simple command
 
Go to start -> Run -> type cmd -> and then type ipconfig/flushdns . 
 
It worked!
 
He said most likely my ISP (Qwest) was holding onto the old page for some reason on their DNS server.
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: War_Doc on April 06, 2007, 11:27:46 AM
That seems to have done it.  Ran another DNS test and no errors came up this time so it looks like things are back to normal for the moment.

Edited:  Nevermind, same errors are coming back again.  Something is going on with that server and DNS propogation.
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Ehelldame on April 07, 2007, 10:23:24 AM
The latest news is that it appears to be a problem with the domain registrar and it's server which makes connecting to the domain for some people an on again, off again experience.  My own tech support guy could not access the entire domain yesterday when previously he could. 

All I can say is, we're working on it.   "Leave no man/woman behind" is the Ehell motto in this context! 
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: sparksals on April 07, 2007, 01:37:18 PM
Well, the plot thickens.  I don't know if it was an across the board outage, but I had no problem getting access early last night, but later on, I got the dreaded page not displayed.  I cleared cookies, temp files and did the flushdns.  Didn't work.  *sigh*

Then, got up this AM and it worked. 
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: War_Doc on April 08, 2007, 08:57:37 PM
All the problems you describe are not a problem on your end, it is a problem with the authoritative DNS server and it's ability to resolve IP's when propogation is shaky from downstream.
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: AdakAK on April 30, 2007, 04:52:21 PM
All the problems you describe are not a problem on your end, it is a problem with the authoritative DNS server and it's ability to resolve IP's when propogation is shaky from downstream.

That sounds very much like what DH told me when I thought Ehell was down for a week.  Something about it pointing incorrectly?

I think he forced our IP lookup somehow, he explained it but it was too technical for me.  Ehell works now?  It will keep working?  Problem solved, that's all I need to know.

He did some poking from our end and I can ask him for the technical details if it will help.

Susan
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Stormtreader on August 07, 2007, 04:37:07 AM
This is happening for me again after the new server change (DNS Fail message).
Did anyone find how to fix it? Ive tried flushdns, hasnt helped :(
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Ehelldame on August 07, 2007, 08:05:47 AM
I think you are just going to have to wait until the DNS propogates.   I am really sorry...I had no idea the IP address would change when we changed to a new server because we weren't chanigng host providers, just switching to a larger machine.  It wasn't mentioned beforehand and I just assumed that the data would move to the new server and we'd keep the same DNS numbers.

I wonder how many other people are having problems accessing the forum?

Well, hopefully this is the last server upgrade for a long time. 
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: sparksals on August 08, 2007, 11:31:36 AM
When I saw the upgrade notification, I thought, "OH NO!!!" because I had the DNS failure for a very long time during the last upgrade.  I had absolutely no issues on this one. 

Stormtreader - did you also delete your cookies?  When I had the problem in the past, I only deleted ehell cookies.  After I deleted all of them, did the dnsflush and then rebooted is when I was able to gain access.
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: caroled on April 21, 2010, 04:22:05 AM
Hi

 I wasn't sure where to post this, so maybe this will get thru to the right people.

 Recently I have had to change my internet server from ATT/Yahoo to Mozilla Flamingvixen.
Because of this , I have had to reload all my bookmarks, etc.... as ATT was not supporting them anymore and thay had all been lost.

In trying to get onto the forum, I have been admitted as a guest. When I try to log-in, it will not recognize me. I put in my user name/e-mail address, and hit forgot password ( as , sadly my short term memory is testing my patience :-\
The site tells me that user name is invalid and I can get no further. I can enter thru ATT, but it is a total pain to use it only for E-hell, and the other server for all my other needs.

Can  anyone help??? I'd like to be able to use my user name and access the site.
Anything   that will help will be greatly appreciated.

Caroled
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: MDefarge on April 21, 2010, 10:18:15 AM
Hi

 I wasn't sure where to post this, so maybe this will get thru to the right people.

 Recently I have had to change my internet server from ATT/Yahoo to Mozilla Flamingvixen.
Because of this , I have had to reload all my bookmarks, etc.... as ATT was not supporting them anymore and thay had all been lost.

In trying to get onto the forum, I have been admitted as a guest. When I try to log-in, it will not recognize me. I put in my user name/e-mail address, and hit forgot password ( as , sadly my short term memory is testing my patience :-\
The site tells me that user name is invalid and I can get no further. I can enter thru ATT, but it is a total pain to use it only for E-hell, and the other server for all my other needs.

Can  anyone help??? I'd like to be able to use my user name and access the site.
Anything   that will help will be greatly appreciated.

Caroled

I sent an e-mail to E-Hell Dame for you - sometimes its easier to e-mail a mod than wait for them to see the problem in a thread. 

Good luck!
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Persephone on May 15, 2010, 05:52:47 PM
So it's not just me then.

I can't access this forum at all via my new netbook. It uses Internet Explorer but the OS is Windows 7. I can google the site but when I click the link it tells me the website address cannot be found. Oh well.
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Sapphire23 on July 16, 2010, 09:49:57 AM
I can't get to EHell on my work computer today.  Went into my bookmarks and clicked on the link for EHell and something different came up.  A page with links for different religons and religious etiquette. ??? I cleared cookies and everything thinking that would do it but nope. I can access EHell fine from my phone... Anyone else ever have an issue like this? Any advice or suggestions???
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: EMuir on July 16, 2010, 10:05:55 AM
I had this problem and I solved it by adding one of the Google DNS servers to my list of DNS servers, 8.8.8.8. 

If you don't know how to do that, here's a relatively easy thing to try in Windows:

Go to the Start Menu, select "Run", and type "cmd".

Type "ipconfig /flushdns" (without the quotes of course) and hit Return.

You can then close that window.   That might help if the information on your actual computer is out of date.  You shouldn't have to reboot.  Good luck!
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: JordanX on July 16, 2010, 12:24:56 PM
Me too.

I had to get here by googling and then following a link to the topic.

Just clicking on the "favorites" link I always use--and used a few hours ago--led to some religious site. 
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: The Opinionator on July 16, 2010, 12:26:38 PM
There are a lot of people asking about this on Facebook. Does anyone have any solutions?
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Scritzy on July 16, 2010, 12:44:04 PM
I'm not having the problem, but then, I never log out. I shut down the internet and used my bookmark and went right to it.

Why not go to the Ehell page on Facebook and leave a message?
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: The Opinionator on July 16, 2010, 12:50:21 PM
Scritzy, I don't log out either. It's now not working on my computer, I have to use my phone.

A lot of people have posted on the eHell FB page, hopefully it will be back to normal soon.
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Bexx27 on July 16, 2010, 12:51:49 PM
Ack, I just got some religious site too. It was odd because I was in the middle of reading a thread and when I clicked on the next page it took me to the religious site. Then I couldn't get back on to the regular site for an hour or so even through facebook or google. It eventually fixed itself somehow. Any idea what's going on?
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: The Opinionator on July 16, 2010, 01:02:47 PM
It's working on my computer again. This is odd.
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Ehelldame on July 16, 2010, 01:15:11 PM
There are a lot of people asking about this on Facebook. Does anyone have any solutions?

Where on Facebook are they asking about this?
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: The Opinionator on July 16, 2010, 01:17:47 PM
There are a lot of people asking about this on Facebook. Does anyone have any solutions?

Where on Facebook are they asking about this?
The official eHell page. If you click on the Etiquette Hell+others link, there should be quite a few posts. (There are also mentions in status updates from people I'm friends with).
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Ehelldame on July 16, 2010, 01:35:47 PM
It's hard for me to figure out what is wrong when I am not getting the same error on my computer.  I can't even recreate it. 
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Ehelldame on July 16, 2010, 01:55:24 PM
I 've figured it out!  The domain renewal was due yesterday and it used to be automatically billed and paid these past years but the hosting provider has changed his client interface and apparently this payment did not occur yesterday.  So, when payment was not made, the system automatically began to take down the site. Access or non-access is sporadic because it's propagating through various DNS servers. 

Everything should be back to normal within a few hours. 
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Hushabye on July 16, 2010, 02:21:12 PM
Ah, that makes sense!  I couldn't even leave a message on the main EHell page because I couldn't access it, either.
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: DottyG on July 16, 2010, 02:23:17 PM
WHEW!  I thought it was just me!  I'm glad to know others were getting that weird site as well!

Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: still in va on July 16, 2010, 02:26:26 PM
twern't just you Dolly! 
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Nora on July 16, 2010, 02:34:33 PM
I had withdrawal symptoms. Twas pathetic.
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Queen of Clubs on July 16, 2010, 02:48:46 PM
I had withdrawal symptoms. Twas pathetic.

Hee, me too!  I guess this is where I sadly admit that yes, I am addicted to E-Hell.  I'm so glad it's back. :D
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: DragonKitty on July 16, 2010, 03:19:15 PM
Adding more hugs all around.   {{{{{{ E-hell community}}}}}}

Yes, I too was going through withdrawal. 
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Nora on July 16, 2010, 03:39:36 PM
Good lord, we're a sad heap of people aren't we?  ;D
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: whipeout on July 16, 2010, 04:22:29 PM
not sad..... pathetic
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Scritzy on July 16, 2010, 04:36:46 PM
Pathetic, but in very polite company. ;D
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Twik on July 16, 2010, 06:17:52 PM
It was the strangest thing - was there really someone out there waiting to pounce on the e-Hell name? Or did they just throw something together as a placeholder?
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Ehelldame on July 16, 2010, 06:30:03 PM
It was the strangest thing - was there really someone out there waiting to pounce on the e-Hell name? Or did they just throw something together as a placeholder?

I've seen the search engine site before...it appears to be what my hosting provider defaults to when a domain renewal is past due.  From a business viewpoint, it's brilliant to cut off your client promptly when payment is overdue so they hustle to pay and get it back up.  It's a departure from his previous method of auto billing and automatic payments from a stored credit card number so I'm not thrilled about it.  That's why I missed the payment...never got an email reminder either. 

  There is no danger of the domain getting snapped up...I had 30 days before it went "on the market". 

Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: The Opinionator on July 16, 2010, 06:46:04 PM
Thank you for fixing it so quickly!

...And boy, it's good to have it back.  :D
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Lisbeth on July 16, 2010, 09:47:36 PM
I'm glad to see the forum is up and running again!  Thanks!
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: That Anime Chick on August 27, 2010, 06:35:41 PM
Is there some sort of issue with the board in the mornings? For the last 3 days now I've gotten a site not found message. I'd figure it was me, but when it shows up on not only my computer, the hubby's computer, my work computer, both cell phones and my iPod touch, I'd like to say there's a problem.

I'm CST if it helps.
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: silvercelt on October 11, 2010, 09:28:30 AM
I get the same message.  It doesn't happen every day, but frequently I get that message up until around 12pm EST.
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Skoffin on October 17, 2010, 12:16:04 PM
It's not really a problem for me any more, but thought I might mention it in case it's useful.

While I was in Paris for the week I noticed that the site was down, giving a server not found message, but it would be accessible again around 1am or later in French time. I'm not sure when it would stop working, but it would be down again by the time I woke up. (about 9am)
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Ehelldame on October 18, 2010, 07:00:58 AM
The server is scheduled to do a back up of data some time around 3 am Eastern Standard Time and I've noticed it slows down during that time.  Otherwise, the server has been plugging away just fine. 
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Bijou on July 21, 2011, 10:50:40 AM
Hi Administration people,
I started a thread this morning because I (and I now realize, others) are having trouble getting on the site in the morning since the change over.   It's in the glitches folder if you want to take a look at it.   
Thank you!
Bijou
Title: Re: If you haven't been able to access the forum from your computer...
Post by: Nora on July 21, 2011, 11:12:52 AM
Me too!