Author Topic: Making Failbread  (Read 1555 times)

Amasi

Making Failbread
« on: November 22, 2011, 01:40:26 PM »
I'd really love to be able to make my own bread. Problem is, whenever I try it, the bread always ends up going flat and stodgy instead of nice and fluffy. Could anyone clue me in  to what I'm doing wrong? I'm a complete amateur when it comes to the kitchen, but I'm trying to learn.

Could it be I am not letting it rise long enough? Last time I made bread it looked like it rose well but I think it collapsed when I went to move it into the oven. Or it's not warm enough while its rising?

O'Dell

Re: Making Failbread
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2011, 01:47:58 PM »
It's not the temperature because the bread will just take longer to rise if it's cool. The following resource says that the problem can come from letting it rise too much so that it collapses in the oven.

http://www.kingarthurflour.com/tips/bread-troubleshooting.html

BTW, I always use King Arthur brand flour. More expensive that other brands but I get very consistent results with it.
Do I contradict myself? Very well, then I contradict myself, I am large, I contain multitudes.
Walt Whitman

Aggiesque

« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2011, 02:08:25 PM »
Not sure if it helps any, but I left mine rise 1 inch over my bread pan, no more.

If you have a breadmaker, those things hate me and I have no advice.
Aggie

My favorite blog, which discusses personal finance: http://www.opinmoney.blogspot.com/

EMuir

« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2011, 02:18:49 PM »
Make sure your yeast is still good, make sure it's in a warm enough place to rise ( I use a heating pad on low under mine), and if all else fails, add vital wheat gluten (no more than 1tbsp per loaf), which adds protein and rise.

buvezdevin

« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2011, 02:26:16 PM »