Author Topic: Vegetarian/Pescetarian Dinner Party Challenge  (Read 2709 times)

QueenofAllThings

Vegetarian/Pescetarian Dinner Party Challenge
« on: January 22, 2012, 01:34:39 PM »
So here's the challenge -

Dinner party next weekend for 7 people.
- Dishes must be vegetarian or pescetarian. Can be shellfish or sole, but no other fish is acceptable (the King is fussy). Salmon is absolutely forbidden.
- It must be relatively easy to prepare (I'm a talented cook, but don't want to spend two days in the kitchen) and not require that I spend 40 minutes over the stove while my guests are in the other room.
- It must be sufficiently 'formal' - the King will absolutely veto my vegetarian chilis, etc.
- It must be hearty enough for a winter dinner (a salad and small mushroom tart, while yummy, won't cut it here)

I am fresh out of ideas - I could just slap a lobster on everyone's plate, but don't really want to take out a second mortgage for this meal.

Help!

*Modified because I hit Send too soon*
« Last Edit: January 22, 2012, 01:39:30 PM by QueenofAllThings »

cicero

• Super Hero!
Re: Vegetarian/Pescetarian Dinner Party Challenge
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2012, 01:51:32 PM »
here is my idea (i have never eaten or prepared shell fish - i keep kosher at home - so i am skipping that).

hearty bean/veg soup
sole rolled up with asparagus (like this, i've never made it but i have tasted it), can serve with mushroom sauce.
wild rice or  brown rice or couscous
brocolli spears, steamed, sprinkled with almonds and/or roast peppers (different colors), peeled, drizzled with olive oil and lemon juice.
big tossed salad
something decadent for dessert

Created by MyFitnessPal.com - Free Weight Loss Tools

Lady Snowdon

• Super cool awesome title
  • Super Hero!
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2012, 02:25:12 PM »
So soups and stews are forbidden as not being formal enough?  Sad.  My initial thought was a big hearty potato soup with tons of fresh crusty bread and butter and a big salad.