Author Topic: Posting wedding photos online.  (Read 12151 times)

emeraldsage85

• Proud auntie of Owen!
Posting wedding photos online.
« on: May 22, 2012, 11:32:21 AM »
I recently attended a wedding and took a lot of pictures (close to 100). I am by no means a professional photographer. Most of my shots were candids or friends posing together, making silly faces. I uploaded them to Facebook the other day. Today I received this response from the Bride:

Hey emeraldsage. Was just looking through the photos you posted from our wedding. While we don't have a problem with our guests posting a few of their favorite photos, we didn't really want every single photo from the night posted. We hired professional photographers and would really like them to be able to have a chance to upload the edited ones before there are hundreds of others posted online. We put a lot of money into them. I hope you understand.  Really appreciate it, emeraldsage.

I really don't understand the Bride's problem here. I'm not trying to upstage the pros and my Facebook is on the maximum privacy setting. Only friends can view the album. I have a very small friends list and most of them were at the wedding.

Can someone please give me a whack with the clue-by-four? Is she overreacting or am I rude in thinking there is nothing wrong with my photos?

cattlekid

Re: Posting wedding photos online.
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2012, 11:34:42 AM »
She probably wants the photographer to be able to sell photos to interested parties.  She probably figures that the photographer won't be able to sell as many prints if the candid photos are readily available for free. 

jmarvellous

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2012, 11:38:35 AM »
She is overreacting.

They're your photos, and you didn't do anything wrong.

Jones

« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2012, 11:46:55 AM »