Author Topic: Is there any way to fix this? Sigh.  (Read 3424 times)

Kaymar

Is there any way to fix this? Sigh.
« on: October 12, 2012, 05:10:55 PM »
Hello all,

I'm a lurker who recently joined, so if this is in the wrong place, please forgive me - I'm still learning.  Thanks in advance for any words of wisdom!

It's been a long week and I've been counting down to a sporting event I'm going to tonight with my boyfriend.  He texted me a bit ago to say "hey, [Annoying Friend, we'll call him A] might be joining us tonight."  My response was, "oh?  did he invite himself?"  (Note, this isn't something I'd normally say, but this friend invites himself to a lot of things.)  Boyfriend confirms that yes, A did invite himself, and then relays their conversation.

Boyfriend and A were talking about sports, and BF mentioned that we were going to the game tonight (mistake - as BF knows, A considers any mention of an event to be akin to an invitation).  A responds, "really?  I might come up for that.  I miss [sport]."  BF then digs (in my mind) deeper and happily tells A about the 10-game pack of tickets that we'd gotten and what a great deal it was and goes in detail about the great benefit of the 10-game pack.  A says, "wow, that is a fantastic deal, I might get one of those myself."

So, I've now gone from looking forward to my partial-season of sports games with my BF to imagining spending many evenings making small-talk with A - who isn't a bad guy, but I don't want to spend this much of my free time and entertainment budget hanging with him.

I let BF know that I wasn't happy with this turn of events, and reminded him that he needs to be careful when mentioning things to A due to the presumed-invitation phenomenon.  He offered to disinvite him from tonight, which of course I said would be rude and he should not do that.

Hope that is not too much detail.  My questions are: