Author Topic: How to back out of a blind date without being rude  (Read 7240 times)

Starr

How to back out of a blind date without being rude
« on: August 10, 2012, 06:08:58 PM »
Hello, everyone.  It's my first time posting a topic here, but I'm in a tight spot and not sure what to do.  Sorry this is a bit long.

I have a former co-worker (I'll call her Emily).  Emily and I worked together at a job at college for two years, and though we both graduated in May we kept in touch via Facebook.  We aren't super-close friends: we've only been out together once, though we saw each other at school daily, had classes together, and chatted/hung out in our office break room.

Emily messaged me a couple weeks ago asking if I would be interested in going on a blind date with her husband's co-worker (let's call him Brian).  I was out of town when she messaged me, so did not get back to her immediately.

Last week she messaged again, stating that she was okay if I didn't want to go out with Brian, but just let her know soon either way.  I told her that I would go out with Brian and we discussed what dates I was free.

Emily messaged me again last night with the date and restaurant Brian suggested.  However, I'm having *major* second thoughts.  I'm a socially anxious and awkward person.  I was under the impression that Emily and her husband would be coming with us, but apparently that's not the case.  Reading back through Emily's messages, I realize that this is totally my fault: she didn't mention her husband, I just assumed it would be a double-date because she had once offered to have me and Brian come over to her apartment for a movie night with her and her husband.