Author Topic: Your cheapness is ruining our friendship..  (Read 1294 times)

tash112194

Your cheapness is ruining our friendship..
« on: December 15, 2014, 03:58:00 PM »
Hi eHell people!

I have a friend acquaintance who I used to be very close with, but her thrifty ways are making me distance myself from her.

We were best friends all through high school, and once we graduated we drifted apart because she got an apartment with her older (24 when she was 18) boyfriend and her grandmother. I didn't start driving until almost a year after I graduated high school so we didn't see each other much but still communicated often on social media.  Then once I had a boyfriend and a license and a car and an apartment with said boyfriend (now fiance), she would try to get us to hang out with her and her boyfriend. We were invited to a couple restaurants in their town, and when we would go she would either immediately tell the waitress we wanted separate checks (without any discussion with us) or she would give us exact change (!!) for their food. Now this girl is the kind of person who believes that she should never have to tip because the servers are just going their job, so we end up tipping for the entire table, paying the tax on their food, etc.  We started to stop hanging out with them because eating out was always very awkward, and if invited over their house we would always end up invited there for hours with no food or they would make food in front of us and not offer us anything, or when we said we were getting hungry (hint hint) they would tell us restaurants in the area.

Other examples of this particular friends cheapness: