Author Topic: Book editor etiquette  (Read 1869 times)

Betelnut

Book editor etiquette
« on: October 15, 2012, 09:26:43 AM »
Hello all:

I've recently written a book and, being a newbie, I want to get some advice from a real editor.  Through the internet, I found a service that will set you up with editors that have experience in editing and working with publishers for the type of book you've written (in my case, a children's picture book).

My dilemna:

I got an email from one editor and set up with her to have a free 15-minute phone consultation. After setting this up, I then received an email from another person whose email (and subsequent emails) have convinced me that she would be a great match for me as in the services she would provide for the cost that I can affored.

Should I cancel out the free consultation with the other editor?  I sort of feel bad but it IS only a 15 phone call that was going to be free anyway.  Or, should I still get the consultation, since it is free, even though I plan on going ahead and hiring another person anyway?

Is this rude/unethical to do?  (Getting free advice when I know I will be hiring someone else?)
Native Texan, Marylander currently

artk2002

• Super Hero!
    • The Delian's Commonwealth
Re: Book editor etiquette
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2012, 09:52:03 AM »
If you're certain you're going with the other person, then yes, it would be unethical.  That said, I wouldn't be making the determination about either editor without spending time with them. The first one could be wonderful when you work directly with them, while the second one could be awful. One e-mail is just a hint, not the whole person.

In other words, do a consult with both and then make a decision. "Choose in haste; repent at leisure."