General Etiquette > All In A Day's Work

When a Boss doesn’t accept your expertise…Final Update #19

(1/5) > >>

DollyPond:
Dear E-Hellions,

I have a work situation where I need some outside perspective.  I work in a lab where I design new testing.  I have done this for over 10 years and have successfully introduced over 35 new tests for our lab.  One new test that I developed is almost ready to be implemented. 

The problem is we have a new interim director (former director suffered a tragedy) who is not very knowledgeable about test design.  She is asking for a lot of extra work to be done mainly to address a situation that might rarely, if ever, arise.  Mind you, this is not something that does happen regularly, it is not occurring now, nor has it ever happened in the past.  She is imagining an extremely remote possibility that, even if it does occur, would only adversely affect a small number of samples that could easily have repeat testing done.

This extra work will significantly delay bringing this test into the lab – by at least a month or two and will have direct financial effects.  No amount of rational explanation has deterred her from demanding that this work be done.  My Supervisor and I have tried to tell her that the extra work is not needed and that if the problem arises during the actual live runs of the test we will deal with it then.

Just yesterday, she went behind Supervisor’s back and asked a lab tech to do the extra work for her.  Supervisor is not yet aware of this and I am in a quandary as to whether to tell Supervisor or just let the chips fall where they may when Supervisor does find out.  So far I have feigned ignorance of the situation.

What say you?  I am of the opinion of stepping back and letting the train go off the cliff as it may be the only way interim director will stop trying to micromanage the situation.

Shoo:
Yup, just let the chips fall. 

MummySweet: