A Civil World. Off-topic discussions on a variety of topics. > Time For a Coffee Break!

Proud kitchen moments, anyone? .

(1/15) > >>

Bijou:
I'm such a good cook...sometimes, that is.
Today I made a shredded cabbage, miniature carrot and sliced and browned kielbasa sausage soup with caramelized onion and garlic.  I used a boxed low sodium chicken stock (the kind you can keep on the shelf until you open it).  When I tasted the completed soup I exclaimed, "Gee, I'm a good cook!"  My husband laughed.  I don't blame him, because although I used to be a very good cook I just hate cooking anymore for lack of energy so I just throw things together and mostly they are just passable. 

yokozbornak:
I recently made a pan of baklava.  It tasted great, and I was so proud of myself.  I am a decent cook, but I a not much of a baker/dessert maker.

MamaMootz:
I made my very first loaf of artisan bread and it came out exactly like the picture in the book, and tasted FANTASTIC. The loaf was gone the same night I made it!

Lynnv:
I have (after years and years of failure) learned to make a decent pie crust.  Yay. 
And a decent pizza crust.  Double yay.

I am a decent cook, but not good with baked goods.  So any success leads me to doing the happy dance.

Outdoor Girl:
My Mom passed away 9 years ago in September.  She made fantastic pastry.  I'd watched her make it and I had her recipe but I've never been able to make it work.  This year, I managed to make it where it works really well for pie crust - easy to roll out, doesn't split when I try to put it in the plate.

It still isn't working 100% for our mincemeat rolls - they split when we bake them - but it is a vast improvement from every other time I've made it.  I've had to modify her technique to make it work but I'm getting there!