General Etiquette > Life...in general

Teaching equals hosting?

(1/3) > >>

Steve:
Casting in ehell time?

I belong to a purple club. At this club we are taught purple and certified purple. My friend teaches purple for the club. This does involve some pay, but it is not much and should be considered voluteerwork. The club also provides purple services to the community.

This week we had a special evening regarding a certain aspect of purple. A guest speaker came over and afterwards there was some chips (crisps) and pop at the clubhouse. As a teacher my friend M got up, thanked the guestspeaker, handed over the small attention, and told everyone there would be pop and chips.

M had organised the entire event, set up the chairs and room etc. She was tired after the cleanup. And so was I. We decided to leave the clubhouse after one drink and only a few crisps, I think we were there for about 30 minutes.
We said our goodbyes but as we were waiting for the elevator a member A approached us and told us we were rude for leaving early,as M had 'invited' everyone to the clubhouse.

I feel that M was not hosting, as this was a club event. She had already organised most of the event and was tired. She should be allowed to leave when she wanted. ( Actually, I wanted to leave and she decided to come along)

Is the person announcing the event also the host? Are we cast into ehell? Or was A very much out of line telling M she schould stay and put in even more effort?

Lynn2000:
So, you and M were in attendance for the guest speaker's entire presentation, and then for half an hour of the "social time" afterward, right? So when you guys left, there were still people in the room socializing and eating.