Author Topic: Autism in toddlers  (Read 2402 times)

Craftymom

Re: Autism in toddlers
« Reply #15 on: February 22, 2013, 06:01:01 AM »
OP, my older son was diagnosed with autism when he was 4 y/o. He is now 24. My advice: be a friend. You wouldn't believe (or maybe you would) how many people drift away from you when you have a child with autism. The ones who stick by you are friends for life.

Not that I condemn people who drift away; it's not an easy situation.

Suffice to say that I have LOTS of experience! If you or your friend would like more advice, feel free to PM me.

Amen!

My little guy is 18 now, ditto on the feel free to PM me...

otterwoman

« Reply #16 on: February 22, 2013, 11:11:21 AM »
My DD, 4, has autism. Offer a shoulder, ask her if she'd mind if you sent her any info you find. Don't just start sending her stuff. There are some good websites and some bad ones. My favorite book is Ten Things Every Child with Autism Wishes You Knew, http://www.amazon.com/Things-Every-Child-Autism-Wishes/dp/1935274651/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361548987&sr=8-1&keywords=ten+things+every+child+with+autism+wishes+you+knew My husband also thinks it's useful for dealing with his employees.

The First Year, Autism Spectrum Disorders: An Essential Guide for the Newly Diagnosed Child http://www.amazon.com/First-Year-Disorders-Essential-Diagnosed/dp/160094065X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1361549147&sr=1-1&keywords=autism+the+first+year

Autism Speaks has a free PDF, The First 100 Days Kit. http://www.autismspeaks.org/docs/family_services_docs/100_day_kit.pdf

Be her friend, be understanding if she's frazzled, running late, needs to leave early, etc.

mmswm

« Reply #17 on: February 22, 2013, 11:27:02 AM »