Hostesses With The Mostest > Entertaining and Hospitality

Passover Seder with kids--what would you focus on?

(1/3) > >>

MommyPenguin:
I'm thinking about doing a Passover Seder this year.  My mother was Jewish, and so although I was raised Catholic, I grew up celebrating Passover at a great-uncle's house (with lots of formality, etc.).  When I was a teenager, an uncle had young children, so he revived Passover and made it a little simpler and more fun with the kids.  So I've had some experience with *going* to a Seder, but never having one myself.  I decided this year would be a good time to introduce my kids to the ideas.  They're 6, 4, 2, and 5 months.

I got this Haggadah from the library that is *great*.  I really like how it presents the story, how it explains things in really simple terms but covers a lot of stuff, and it even has some ideas for dancing/games that involve getting up from the table, which might be a good idea with kids who are so little!  But doing everything in the book would take hours, and, well, see ages of kids above.