Author Topic: We're getting old. And it's not a bad thing.  (Read 547 times)

Phoebelion

We're getting old. And it's not a bad thing.
« on: June 22, 2013, 06:55:47 AM »
I've been setting up my own cottage business for a couple of years to get ready for retirement.  I figure between that and volunteer work, I won't go stir crazy.

DH has now jumped on the band wagon.  He's eclectic like I am, but has decided to concentrate on wood working - in a BIG way.  So his dream is to have a fully functional wood shop. While he has many large tools, we are off this AM to check out a used sander.  A sander that you would see in a shop. A big sander.  A huge sander.  While I'm in shock just looking at the pic due to the size of this thing, he's drooling.   Best part is I know he'll use it. 

Now DH and DDIL have jumped on the band wagon.  They have put an offer on property with a house and a huge pole barn. 

So now the plan is DH to start a wood working business, DS to get his blacksmithing company in full motion, and DDIL to get her bookkeeping/accounting business going. 

Now they're concerned where to stick my business.  I keep telling them all I need is a 12 ft square corner with great lighting that's clean.  They're worried that I'll feel left out/cramped/put upon/whatever because they're basically taking over.   

My other "demands" that they have agreed to:  I can bring my dog to work, we have "shop" cat/s (we plan on partitioning off the blacksmith shop with sound proofing and a blower system), and a housekeeper once a week.   

So getting old isn't a bad thing in my life. 

What are your plans?

Thipu1

• Super Hero!
Re: We're getting old. And it's not a bad thing.
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2013, 08:44:26 AM »
Welcome to retirement!

Being able to do what you want when you want is a beautiful thing. 

We don't do all that much compared to you but we love the freedom to do what we enjoy. 

Piratelvr1121

• Super Hero!
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2013, 08:56:22 AM »