Author Topic: Travelling with boss- and overpowering car air freshener  (Read 2833 times)

stormyskies

Travelling with boss- and overpowering car air freshener
« on: May 07, 2013, 08:23:34 PM »
Is there any tactful way for an auto passenger to bring up the topic of overpowering car scents? I frequently have this problem when carpooling, but feel especially sick in the car of my new boss, "Jill". I was recently job-shadowing Jill and visited various sites with her while we both travelled in her automobile.  Jill is a very intelligent, competent and caring woman who has taught me a lot. The only problem is that her car literally makes me ill. 

I am not technically allergic, but often experience nausea from moving vehicles, and also from overpowering artificial scents. The combination of a moving car with an inescapable air freshener is especially horrific. I haven't said anything because I don't want to hurt or offend Jill. I'm also aware that it's impolite and off-putting to talk about one's health and symptoms with bosses and co-workers.

The only polite thing that I've come up with so far was "Would you mind if I opened a window to get some fresh air?". This helped somewhat during city driving, but is impractical for highway driving. We're no longer job-shadowing, but Jill still offers car rides to the newer employees when we're all travelling to the same location.

I've broached this subject in the cars of family members ("I'm sorry, but the Pina Colada Luau scented dangly-thing is really bothering me") but it's obviously more difficult in a work setting. Does anybody have ideas? Thanks!

Marguette

Re: Travelling with boss- and overpowering car air freshener
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2013, 08:31:47 PM »
ĒIím sorry, but Iím sensitive to car scents and I tend to get carsick.Ē