Author Topic: "Why do you want to leave your current job?"  (Read 3441 times)

lisen

Re: "Why do you want to leave your current job?"
« Reply #15 on: May 31, 2013, 12:44:57 PM »
These are all good points.

As some have deduced, I am an instructor. I have been a 'contract instructor' at Tom's, but Noble College is offering a full-time position at a college with an educational mandate I really support. Although Noble College's specialty is not mine, it's similar and something I'm very interested in. As well, Tom's Academy was very narrow in its focus, while Noble College has a wider more inclusive scope. I only mention the commute because Tom's Academy is 1 hour each way for me, while Noble College is only 20 minutes. I do not enjoy crossing cities every day!

I think I know how I will present the information to Noble College now, and I am sure I will be back to ask for more tips if things go well with their board of directors and they interview me again. <fingers crossed>

artk2002

• Super Hero!
    • The Delian's Commonwealth
« Reply #16 on: May 31, 2013, 01:12:09 PM »
Expressed diplomatically, everything in your middle paragraph above is a legitimate reason. I even think the commute is important -- that would give you back nearly 1.5 hours every day.
Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bow lines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. -Mark Twain

TootsNYC

• A Pillar of the Forum
« Reply #17 on: May 31, 2013, 02:22:54 PM »
Yeah, but I wouldn't say that to the interviewer. Maybe not ever, and certainly not until I thought I'd made all the other good impressions I possibly could.

As the interviewer, I don't want to bother with that, and I'm far more interested in someone who wants to work with my organization.

z_squared82

« Reply #18 on: May 31, 2013, 02:54:33 PM »