Author Topic: Sensitive,Etiquette-Approved Way to Express Sadness? *Warning: Pregnancy Issues*  (Read 2081 times)

Angel B.

Hi all! Been a while since I've had anything to post.

BG: I'm an ESL teacher, currently based in Asia. I travel to my student's homes or meet them in coffee shops. My students range from 3-65 years of age with varying levels of English. My more advanced students are more comfortable telling me personal things about their lives. Obviously, I try to maintain a relatively professional distance from my students, though my students will be more friendly than formal.

2 weeks ago, one of my students told me his wife had been very sick. I expressed my sympathy. This week, I asked after his wife and he told me she had suffered a miscarriage. . I again expressed my sympathy and he told me about the infertility issues his wife and him were having. I wasn't sure what to really say.

Is there anything I could/can say that is appropriate that is a little more friendly than "i'm sorry"? My heart is breaking for my student.

My greatest treasure is love beyond measure.
-Il barbiere di Siviglia

White Lotus

If a Western man told you these things in English, in the US, UK, etc., you would express sympathy in the first instance, and would probably find the second a little inappropriate and a bit uncomfortable, given your relationship.  I would express sympathy, and might make inquiry about his wife's health without getting into details about the fertility issues or encouraging him to discuss them.  You're speaking and teaching English -- and that includes appropriate topics of conversation and courtesies.

crella