Author Topic: Should I Pitch In?  (Read 2472 times)

Aria

Should I Pitch In?
« on: July 26, 2013, 01:01:18 PM »
I am in graduate school, currently doing a summer internship in my field. As an intern, I have a cubicle next to the assistants. While both the assistants and I do work for the professionals, we donít do the same kind of work. Additionally, my cube is a little removed from the assistantsí cubes (this is how it was when I started). The assistants are friendly but obviously I donít have the same rapport with them as they do with each other (theyíve all worked here for some time). At the beginning of the summer, one week into my internship, there was a baby shower for one of the assistants (ďJaneĒ). I didnít know her but knitted her a baby hat, for which she thanked me verbally.

Next week is Janeís birthday. Another one of the assistants, ďApril,Ē e-mailed all of the assistants and me, asking if we wanted to pitch in for a card and gift card for Jane. She mentioned that this is what is normally done for a birthday.

Do I have to pitch in? Jane is nice, but I donít know her very well and Iíve already given her one gift this summer. My internship is over in two weeks. Also, money is a bit tight right now. Should I respond to Aprilís e-mail or ignore it?

Hmmmmm

• Super Hero!
Re: Should I Pitch In?
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2013, 01:06:57 PM »
I think it's probably a case that they didn't want to exclude you. I don't think it's necessary. I would respond with a "Thanks for including me, but I won't be able to participate."

Outdoor Girl

• Super Hero!
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2013, 01:20:37 PM »
I agree with Hmmmmm.

I'm assuming that as an intern you are making very little or no money so they should understand.  And if they don't, well, you are going to be leaving in a few weeks, anyway.
After cleaning out my Dad's house, I have this advice:  If you haven't used it in a year, throw it out!!!!.
Ontario

lemons

« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2013, 02:59:28 PM »