Author Topic: When you really do know your stuff . . . customer related OP#32  (Read 5521 times)

jpcher

• Super Hero!
Is there a polite way to say "I know what you're thinking and I've tried to accommodate your thoughts. Trust me. I've tried every alternative with what was supplied and this is the best possible solution."

In other words, "Please don't waste my time!" <-- I know this is nasty and I would never say it to a customer . . . but sometimes? I'd like to say "I really do know my stuff. You just gotta trust me on this."

BG: I'm an in-house graphic designer for a large company with a forte of page-layout/design (magazines/brochures/newsletters/fliers, etc.) All of my customers are in-house. There are certain corporate standards that must be adhered to. . . . I take pride in my work. I'll manipulate the living daylights out of any page-layout in order to ensure that it is the best possible design. endBG.

The reason I'm posting about this happened yesterday, although there have been many situations in the past where this sort of thing occurred and I'm wondering if I could somehow just cut it off at the pass.

A new bimonthly article will be appearing in our monthly magazine. So I came up with a design/logo and layout format. I presented it to the author(customer) for approval before sending it on to the editor.

Long story short, he was very happy with the accompanying artwork (no changes there) but didn't care for the layout of the page.

I spent an hour with him showing him exactly why the article was laid out the way it was. He asked "What if you did this?" I said "I tried that and it didn't work" He said "Can I just see it?" So I quickly manipulated the page and explained it doesn't work for this, that, and the other reason. He had several other suggestions . . .

In the end, he agreed that what I did was the best solution. And I worked an hour OT just to catch up with my other tasks. ::)