Author Topic: Responding to complaints  (Read 3905 times)

Just Lori

• USA
Re: Responding to complaints
« Reply #15 on: October 11, 2013, 07:26:59 AM »
When I worked in retail, I found that most people backed down when I gave them permission to go off on me.  I know that sounds counterintuitive, but when a customer was upset about something, I'd tell them who could address their complaint and how to reach that person.  Then I'd say, "But if you need to vent your frustrations, feel free to vent on me."  That almost always took the wind out of their sails, because they realized how ludicrous it was to yell at a sales associate over something that was beyond our control.

SlitherHiss

« Reply #16 on: October 11, 2013, 11:57:48 AM »
With the follow up information I think the original few poster's ideas on responses still work.  The complaint was still one your could acknowledge and emphasize with and then provide a solution (pay here, ask for reimbursement, directions to correct lot, etc.).

Reminbursement is not possible because the parking pass specifically stated exactly where to park at. Plus we were told that those parking passes were only valid at the parking garage stated on the pass.

The parking attendant let her know that her parking permit, which she took a picture of, was not valid at the parking garage both of us were working at. He let her know which garage she had to go to, and her gave her directions, but she did not want to go to that garage. She told both of us that we should have let her park at the garage we were working at for free and that he should have accepted the picture of the parking permit she took using her cell phone as proof. Neither were possible.