Author Topic: Potential for job opening--do I contact them or wait?  (Read 1391 times)

Layla Miller

• I know stuff.
Potential for job opening--do I contact them or wait?
« on: September 19, 2013, 03:18:36 PM »
BG: I'm currently a SAHM but before we moved to the town we now live in I was a librarian.  I've been keeping an eye on the usual outlets for library-related job openings in the area, but it's a fairly small town so you can imagine there haven't been a whole lot of opportunities.  Fortunately, we're doing okay on what DH makes, so there's no rush.

Earlier today I got an e-mail from a friend letting me know that one of the librarians at the local public library is resigning.  She suggested I talk to the library director and see if they will be hiring a new one.

Now, this sounds perfect.  It's a (hypothetical) library job in town and part time, which is ideal and I had little hope of finding anytime soon...and the chances of it happening again soon probably aren't too likely.  I would love to be able to apply for it.   /BG

The problem, of course, is that there's no official opening yet.  Nothing in the paper, nothing on the internet, nothing on the library website, etc.  What I'm wondering is, would it be inappropriate to e-mail the director or stop by in person and ask about this?  Should I wait and see if/when they announce an opening?

What do you think?  Right now I'm too excited to trust my own judgment on what proper etiquette would be in this situation, so I'm throwing it over to the professionals.  :)
I searched for nothing on the Internet and got 175,000,000 hits.

GreenBird

Re: Potential for job opening--do I contact them or wait?
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2013, 03:29:25 PM »