Author Topic: s/o It's Not Like It's Work! (graphics and design edition)  (Read 2474 times)

ladyknight1

• Super Hero!
  • Operating the logic hammer since 1987.
Re: s/o It's Not Like It's Work! (graphics and design edition)
« Reply #15 on: Yesterday at 11:56:26 AM »
We have a graphic designer on staff and she is very busy. My boss got the Happy Holidays graphic for this year from her and had a conniption because it was in portrait, not landscape.

Boss never requested it in landscape.

Boss complained that it was too large, so I resized it. Boss complained that she had to scroll in an email to see the whole image. Boss had her email on 125% of the actual size. Sigh.

akm10

« Reply #16 on: Yesterday at 12:13:28 PM »
The current mascot of our Project Team:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKorP55Aqvg

LazyDaisy

« Reply #17 on: Yesterday at 01:41:39 PM »
I do have a classic example of the belief that 'anyone can do it'. I'm not a designer, but because a client asked I spent the best part of 8 hours over a couple of days, with client feedback, on photo layout for promotional materials, kept it simple, clean fonts, and so on. I thought this was a fast turnaround, but the client did not. They said they could do it better for the next run in-house, because feedback and photo changes was far too much work and they had a volunteer with a computer.  The result was one page of text. No pictures, five colours for emphasis, (and because pale yellow text should always be used on a white background), a system font in about seven random sizes, etc. To save costs they printed it greyscale, so I only discovered the funky colors when I saw it online.

There is a happy ending. Mine got a 10% response rate. Theirs didn't - and that's not 'didn't get 10%', that's 'didn't have a response rate' so I've been asked back to design their next campaign.