Author Topic: Americans - do you get sick of celebrating?  (Read 4365 times)

kherbert05

• Super Hero!
    • Trees downed in my yard by Ike and the clean up
Re: Americans - do you get sick of celebrating?
« Reply #60 on: February 15, 2014, 08:35:47 PM »
Like the others have said - Holidays are what you make of them.

Someone mentioned that there seemed like schools celebrated fewer holidays.

I'm a public school teacher in Texas. We are by law restricted to 2 class parties a year. I don't remember now if it is federal or state - but it has to do with childhood obesity. It is called the food of minimal nutritional value law.

We have Winter Break and Valentines (Teachers gave the kids an Ice Cream Social This year in 2nd) at my school. One Mom was telling me that her niece and nephew go to in district school and the principal has banned all parties because CRUD MONKEYS! we are losing instructional time. That 1 hour for an ice cream social is going to ruin the children's chances of passing the STAAR NEXT year (they start taking it in 3rd grade).

Thankfully our principal is a reasonable woman, who realizes an hour of fun buys us so much more time because the kids are happy. Honestly I had the kids put their valentines in their table's toy box. Put the schedule on the board, erased each lesson as the day went on - and didn't hear a peep about "when is the party" or "But I want to play because today is the party" They worked hard - everyone got 90 or better on their spelling test, all but 3 got 100 on a math test, the sub in music said they did the best job of everyone all day. They were happy and worked hard - even recopying their final drafts of their how to paper. Principal also plays music every Friday during dismissal you actually see lines of kids and teachers dancing out of the building.
Don't Teach Them For Your Past. Teach Them For Their Future

bopper

• Super Hero!
« Reply #61 on: February 16, 2014, 04:59:55 PM »