Author Topic: People trying to sell/pitch stuff to you while you are working  (Read 2559 times)

Cali.in.UK

BG: I work as a student rep for an external company. At my university there is a space near our library where different student groups can reserve tables for promotional reasons, usually only one group at a time. My coworker and I reserved a table for today. When we came to our table, another group was set up in the table directly next to us, for student elections. The girl had just seen the table open and just grabbed it for voting purposes but she nicely offered to move. However, I didn't see a problem with them using the table next to us because we were promoting such different things and my job is pretty low-key so I said they could stay. Since our tables were right next to each other (couldn't be moved, due to space) there was a lot of overlap of students talking to us and some students got confused if our tables were separate or part of the same organization.
Today: Before I had really started working, but the table was set up, and I was just chatting with a friend while I waited for my coworker to arrive: A student came up to the table and asked if I was also a student, and I said I was. I thought he was interested in our company so I turned to give him my full attention and he started talking in the softest voice, barely above a whisper. I tried to hear what he was saying but he was speaking so quietly that I really couldn't hear him and his voice seemed to lower with every sentence. I apologized and said I couldn't hear what he was saying, but asked if he was interested in our company and he seemed to get offended. He said that I didn't hear him because I wasn't listening. I tried to stay friendly and I asked him if he was interested in the offer that we had displayed on the table and then he said that he was running for student elections and he was trying to pitch himself to me.