Author Topic: Chicken stock: how much?  (Read 1170 times)

Diane AKA Traska

• Or you can just call me Diane. (NE USA EHellion)
Chicken stock: how much?
« on: May 13, 2014, 10:43:47 AM »
I'm making a vegetable soup in a 4 qt slow cooker.  I've never attempted homemade soup before, but I know that I want it flavored, so I bought a box of chicken stock (Rachel Ray low sodium, liquid form.)  Thing is though, I've never used stock before.  So how much should I use?  I mean, I'm assuming I don't just dump the whole thing in there (wouldn't that make it too strong?)

magicdomino

Re: Chicken stock: how much?
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2014, 10:48:22 AM »
Quite possibly the whole box, if it isn't a concentrated paste or cube. 

ladyknight1

• Super Hero!
  • Operating the logic hammer since 1987.
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2014, 10:55:05 AM »
I would use the whole container and taste partway through cooking. You may need to add seasoning and or salt.

Outdoor Girl

• Super Hero!
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2014, 11:04:31 AM »
If it is straight liquid stock, I'd use the whole thing.  If it is a concentrated stock where you also have to add more water, check the directions to see how much it makes and go from there.
I have CDO.  It is like OCD but with the letters in alphabetical order, as they should be.
Ontario

TootsNYC

• A Pillar of the Forum
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2014, 11:11:15 AM »
Most chicken stocks aren't going to be "too concentrated" just because you use more. You add more volume along with the flavor, which keeps them from being concentrated.

You might end up w/ a more concentrated flavor because you -removed- volume (by boiling away a lot of the water), but w/ chicken stock, the flavor is not so terribly strong that it will be unpleasant.

Diane AKA Traska

« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2014, 11:34:13 AM »
And this is why I ask first. :D