Author Topic: Help needed re how to handle my supervisor  (Read 7310 times)

songbird

Help needed re how to handle my supervisor
« on: August 12, 2014, 01:02:48 PM »
Background:  I've been working in my field for 30 years.  Ism, or at least I hope I am,  polished and professional in the workplace.  I started a new job at the end of June.  We are consultants, hired to solve a client's significant problem.  There are five of us on the team -- a team leader and four examiners.  We are all very experienced, the youngest member of the team is just a couple of years younger than I am. I'm the only woman in the group, which surprises me, since my field tends to be evenly divided between men and women.

The team leader is about 10-15 years older than I am. 

Here's the problem.  The way he treats me is...annoying.  Upsetting. 

He sometimes calls me "young lady".  I could overlook that -- he calls a coworker "young man". 

But the way he teased me ...

The first time, he came over to my cube, spotted my cell phone, picked it up and pretended to put it in his pocket. The incident lasted about 30 seconds, then he put the phone down.

But today...

Our ID badges are generic, plain white cards with no writing on them.  I need my card to enter the building, access my floor and to unlock the ladies room.i keep my card in a plastic case on a lanyard.  My desk key is also attached to the lanyard.  If I lose that lanyard I have real headaches.  I usually wear it around my neck, but sometimes I leave it on my desk.