Author Topic: Where do I start?  (Read 3406 times)

January Girl

Where do I start?
« on: November 04, 2014, 09:41:19 AM »
I have an issue at work and I need some advise on how to approach this. It's a sensitive issue...I need help with wording.

I'm an office manager for a local company. I have 3 people who report to me. They are considered admin assistants. Tammy, Maria and Julie. All very nice, hard working ladies, however very different personalities. Tammy is outgoing, funny and goofy. Maria is shy, quiet and reserved. Julie is a loudmouth (at times) and everyones best buddy. I love them all for the variety they bring to the office.

Maria recently got pregnant. Her first baby and we were overjoyed for her. In her first trimester she got morning sickness in the worst way. We were all sympathic. She was able to finally get on some medication to help with the nausea. The side effect to the meds was gas. From the top and bottom. Maria was mortified. She would be reaching for a paper or something simple and oops! It was frequent. Maria apologized over and over. She even sent an email to our immediate team explaining and apologizing for any time it happened. It got to the point we told her to stop apologizing..we understood. She had a healthy baby and the gas stopped shortly after.

Julie went to the doctor and had a recent change in her medication. Lo and behold the side affect was gas. We all had a good giggle about it. We joked 'who would be next'. So as with Maria, we understood and when it happened we let it slide.

That's about where the similarities ended. After a while, when Julie felt it coming, she would lean or lift her leg a little bit. I knew she was trying to be funny. This is a professional office. Yes, we have our funny and goofy times. And yes, we are sympathic to things beyond our control. However, there is a decorum to follow.