News: IT'S THE 2ND ANNUAL GUATEMALA LIBRARY PROJECT BOOK DRIVE!    LOOKING FOR DONATIONS OF SCIENCE BOOKS THIS YEAR.    Check it out in the "Extending the Hand of Kindness" folder or here: http://www.etiquettehell.com/smf/index.php?topic=139832.msg3372084#msg3372084   

• November 21, 2017, 08:13:38 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Having to defend my plans  (Read 7758 times)

nuit93

Having to defend my plans
« on: March 14, 2016, 12:17:22 PM »
I'm going back to school in a little over two weeks (yay!).  This is both exciting and scary for me--I've been in college before, but it's been over a decade since I earned my last BA.

Bit of background:  the last time I was in college, I worked a TON of hours while going to school full time.  More than I really should have, plus I was a commuter student to boot.  I graduated, but my grades were really not great.  Not to mention the constant outside stressors I was dealing with (some are rather disturbing so I won't mention them here).  I had chosen a major in a topic that came relatively easily to me (English) and I'm rather certain that was one of the only reasons I graduated at all.

Fast forward to now.  I'm pursuing a far more rigorous academic pursuit, and determined to do better than the last time around.  After lots of talking with DH and planning/budgeting, we've decided that for the first couple years at least I will not hold an additional job but instead focus entirely on my studies.  I feel incredibly fortunate that not only can DH provide for us, but he also has the skill set to be able to help me with some of my classes (woohoo!  live-in tutor!).