News: IT'S THE 2ND ANNUAL GUATEMALA LIBRARY PROJECT BOOK DRIVE!    LOOKING FOR DONATIONS OF SCIENCE BOOKS THIS YEAR.    Check it out in the "Extending the Hand of Kindness" folder or here: http://www.etiquettehell.com/smf/index.php?topic=139832.msg3372084#msg3372084   

• November 22, 2017, 06:27:36 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Can We Do This? Clarification #6, Update #23, Resolution #29  (Read 9443 times)

Angel B.

Can We Do This? Clarification #6, Update #23, Resolution #29
« on: April 02, 2016, 05:11:38 AM »
SO and I have been together for just over 2 1/2 years. We know that we want to get married, we've looked at rings and talked about what we would want in our married life. I am currently studying my PGCE(teaching certicate) in the UK on a student visa, he is a British citizen. My visa expires in August, and I must find a job to remain in the UK. I am 26 years old and SO is 41. He no longer has any living parents, while I have my DM and DSF(This is all relevant).

Yesterday, we had a discussion about marriage. Because of our situation, my partner wants to get married next month so I can apply for a spousal visa(Please no legal advice) and not worry about needing a school to sponsor me for a work permit. He then wants to have a second wedding later, maybe next year. He also plans to do an actual proposal. We both want a wedding, but since I'm not working and in the middle of a very intesive course, I couldn't cope with planning one/we can't afford one. We also want to start TTC but follow the belief that we should be married(We don't believe everyone else should, its just what we believe for ourselves) before taking that step. Given his age, we want it to be sooner rather than later.