News: IT'S THE 2ND ANNUAL GUATEMALA LIBRARY PROJECT BOOK DRIVE!    LOOKING FOR DONATIONS OF SCIENCE BOOKS THIS YEAR.    Check it out in the "Extending the Hand of Kindness" folder or here: http://www.etiquettehell.com/smf/index.php?topic=139832.msg3372084#msg3372084   

• November 21, 2017, 08:13:49 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Photographer Wants Deposit Before Meeting?!  (Read 3257 times)

Angel B.

Photographer Wants Deposit Before Meeting?!
« on: August 27, 2016, 06:12:09 AM »
Hi all!

I am currently planning my wedding. I live in on the other end of the country(UK) of where I am getting married so I have been contacting vendors to schedule meetings. I am also a Newly Qualified Teacher so I am only really able to come up during school breaks. Vendors have been very accommodating to this and thus far haven't minded scheduling meeting so far in advance(I'm going up in October).

I'm in the process of contacting photographers, and my fiance and I have shortlisted 5. We've looked at their websites and they are within our budget. I sent out the requisite emails to arrange a meeting; we would like to see if we like them before we book. We've already arranged a meeting with one. Another has emailed back saying he will not meet with us unless we book and put down a deposit. My fiance read the e-mail and flat out refused to do that.

So my questions are: Is this normal when booking a photographer? Should we expect that we have to put down a deposit and book before meeting them? How can I politely turn down this photographer?

My greatest treasure is love beyond measure.
-Il barbiere di Siviglia

Mustard

Re: Photographer Wants Deposit Before Meeting?!
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2016, 06:39:53 AM »