News: There is a new Ehell Kindness Project!  Check it out in the "Extending the Hand of Kindness" folder or here: http://www.etiquettehell.com/smf/index.php?topic=139832.msg3372084#msg3372084   

• April 30, 2016, 10:32:47 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: The unacceptable 3-second 'thank you' delay  (Read 1567 times)

#borecore

• Formerly marvellous, now a bore
The unacceptable 3-second 'thank you' delay
« on: April 21, 2016, 02:57:25 PM »
I'm studying in a coffee shop and I needed to use the restroom for a moment,  but wanted to leave my notepad, folder and coffee on the table.  I asked the two young women at the table next to me, "Mind if I leave this here for a minute?" One said "sure,"  and I said, "Thanks!" I took my phone and wallet with me.

When I came back to the table 2-4 minutes later, I was still settling back into my seat and putting my phone away, when the girls looked at each other, giggled, and one said a loud,  sarcastic, "You're welcome."

I replied with a smile, "Thanks,  I was getting there!" but I thought to myself that they really have no idea why it took me more than 3 seconds to thank them. I thought at first that it might be that they were eager to leave, but both had full drinks, and they didn't leave for another 30 minutes.

So, 3 questions:
1. When can you make the interesting assumption that a thank you  will not be coming?
2. We've discussed this one before, but was this a good use of the sarcastic "you're welcome"?
3. Does keeping an eye out for a stack of papers merit a thank you in the first place?

LB

Re: The unacceptable 3-second 'thank you' delay
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2016, 03:26:45 PM »
1. Much longer than 3 seconds...I'm not sure how long. Sometimes people get distracted and will remember a few minutes later and say thanks. And maybe apologize for not saying it earlier. It happens, I've done it and I think as long as you correct yourself, it shouldn't be a big deal.