Author Topic: Kohlrabi anyone?  (Read 1117 times)

RainhaDoTexugo

• got married!
  • Super Hero!
  • Tatum!
Kohlrabi anyone?
« on: October 13, 2007, 11:35:40 PM »
My mom gave me a kohlrabi earlier, and I have no idea what to do with it.  She suggested just cutting it up and adding it to pot roast, but I'd like to do something a little more interesting, since it's an exciting new veggie and I'd like to be able to actually taste it.  I'm a fairly competent cook, and willing to experiment.  Thanks in advance!

mechtilde

• Super Hero!
Re: Kohlrabi anyone?
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2007, 06:50:12 AM »
Bürgerlich Kohlrabi

Peel the kohlrabi and cut into halves or quarters (depending on size) then slice very thinly. Cut the thick vein out of the leaves and blanch, then chop finely- as you would do herbs. Boil the kohlrabi and leaves in lamb stock until tender. Make a roux of butter and flour- use this to thicken the stock to the consistency of a reasonably thick gravy and serve.

This is about the only thing I do with Kohlrabi! BTW you can use any stock you like, lamb is just what is specified in the original recipie.
NE England

Nimblicity

• A closed mouth gathers no foot.
    • an American in Yurrup
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2007, 09:27:17 AM »
I like it steamed with a little bit of butter, sugar, and carrots. 

Peel the Kohlrabi and Carrots.  Slice both into sticks.  Steam/boil in a pot or pan with a little bit of water and a teaspoon of butter.  Careful not to let them stick!  Towards the end, add a touch of sugar or brown sugar, stir it all up really well, and serve as a side dish.
Used to be Bienchen

an American in Yurrup

cicero

• Super Hero!
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2007, 12:27:51 PM »
yummy i love kohlrabi!

<warning! it can get you a bit gassy!>

raw root salad:
===========
2 beets, 1-2 kohlrabi, 2-3 carrots - all peeled and grated
add: salt, black pepper, oil, freshly squeezed lemon juice.