Author Topic: Sourdough Bread  (Read 3250 times)

Miss Unleaded

Sourdough Bread
« on: November 01, 2007, 11:38:08 AM »
Does anyone have a good recipe for making sourdough bread, including the starter?  It is just the kind of bread I like to make into sandwiches but I've never tried to bake it before.  I'd like to start with a recipe someone else has tried and succeeded with, rather than a random recipe from google.  Does the success of the bread depend on the climate?

Any and all tips or hints would also be appreciated.

ITSJUSTME

Re: Sourdough Bread
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2007, 11:49:16 AM »
This is just one of the countless links that features this bread recipe.  It is the easiest and MOST delicious bread I have ever made.

http://www.nytimes.com/2006/11/08/dining/08mini.html

This was featured on the Martha Stewart show a few months ago and the video (if you need it) is still available on youtube or elsewhere on line.

You basically mix up a  very wet dough, leave it sit about 18 hours, roughly shape it into a loaf and let it rise a bit, plop it into a dutch oven that has heated to 500 degrees and let it bake about 40 minutes, uncovering half way to brown the top.

I recommend you try it.  While not technically a sourdough, the bread does ferment somewhat during the long resting period.

If you want to use sourdough I recommend you find a recipe (they're all pretty much the same) and start one.  You mix it up, let it sit a few days, then you have to divide it.  It needs to be cared for and used frequently so if you will be doing lots of baking, I say go for it - but if bread will be a once in awhile thing for you, then I say use this recipe.  Good luck and enjoy!

edited for word usage
« Last Edit: November 01, 2007, 11:55:35 AM by ITSJUSTME »

GlindaBunny

• my etsy store
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2007, 01:27:29 PM »
I love this website for discussions and bread recipes:

http://www.thefreshloaf.com/node/4006/100-sourdough-bread-taste-bread-r-calvel