Author Topic: Brining, pros and cons  (Read 1472 times)

ccnumber4

Brining, pros and cons
« on: November 16, 2007, 05:54:31 PM »
I decided to brine my turkey this year and have some questions for those of you who are experienced with this. 

First, I am a good cook, so am not worried about messing it up too badly.  I do, however, like a "classic" turkey taste.  Does the brining make it taste vastly different than a regular turkey, or is it mostly to add tenderness?  I don't mind if my turkey has a little extra flavor, but...I still want it to taste like turkey.  Ya know?  Also, does it make the turkey taste saltier? 

I am using a 14lb frozen Butterball Turkey (though now I wish I had gone with fresh) and Turkey Perfect Herb Brine Mix, from WholeFoods. 

And lastly, any specific pitfalls I should watch out for?  The bag calls for a 20 to 24 hr marinate, but I think I am leaning more towards one hr per lb.  I just don't want to leave it for too long and have it taste salty. 

Any advice or suggestions you have would be great!

LiveLoveLearn

• The Girl Next Door
Re: Brining, pros and cons
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2007, 06:26:54 PM »
If you thoughly rinse the turkey after taking out of the brine, it shouldn't taste salty.  Also, the brine will have enough sugar in it to balance the salt that is in it.  You need to do at least 20 hours to allow the turkey to absorb the brine all the way through.

IME, a straight brine doesn't change the taste of it.  It also doesn't inherently make it tender.  What it does is season the meat from the inside and add water to the turkey so that it doesn't dry out during cooking.  Now, of course, moist turkey is more tender ;)  It will certainly still taste like turkey, but again, the key is to rinse it very well with cold water when you remove it from the brine to get all of the salt off the surface of the bird.