Author Topic: New To EH--Online Friend Introduced Me B/C I Have A Question  (Read 5806 times)

RUstudent

Hello.  :) I'm currently a Rutgers University student (in New Jersey, USA), originally from New York. I'm a 21 y/o female, and I will copy and paste my problem so I don't have to re-type everything, lol.

So, currently I'm in a double dorm (meant for two people). On paper, I have this room to myself.  However, a friend of mine needed a place to stay for the first session (which ends in the beginning of July) because she's taking classes and commuting would've been ridiculous. So I let her stay, even though I'm the type of person that likes and needs her space. I didn't want to be mean, since the only reason I didn't want her to stay is that I didn't want a roommate, which isn't that good of a reason since she's supposed to be my friend, right?

So we're currently in the 3rd week, but God knows I can't wait until July, when I can hopefully have this room to myself (I say "hopefully" because since I technically have a vacancy, housing CAN give me a roommate if they so choose). However, my friend is now currently talking about getting a job here after her classes are over, and presumed that, if housing didn't give me a roommate, I'd let her stay.  ??? :-\ However, I really need my space, and am already letting her stay for 5-6 weeks (the length of the first session). So I've decided to break the news to her (and be honest, that I need my space) this week. We have another friend who also has a vacancy, but my friend knows that that friend needs her space and as such my friend won't be staying there, so hopefully she'll understand the whole needing space thing, especially since I technically didn't have to say she could stay here in the first place. For those like me that need their space, you know this is a bit of a sacrifice for me.