Author Topic: Long distance marriage?  (Read 7385 times)

AmberVolakis

• I'm not perfect, I'm clumsy!
Long distance marriage?
« on: June 19, 2008, 02:10:48 AM »
My partner and I are having a ceremony on July 4th (we're both women, and gay marriage is not legal in our state). We already figured out how to handle the inevitable awkwardness of terminology (we plan on referring to each other as "spouse" or "significant other," and if someone assume that's a "he" gently correcting them with "she").

Anyway, what I wanted feedback on is the issue of long distance marriage. I'm a recent grad school graduate and she has one more semester to finish up her degree, so in the fall she will be returning to a neighboring state to finish up classes. (With one semester left in her program, transferring was not really an option, or necessary, we felt.) We'll be spending the winter holidays together, obviously, and visiting as much as we can during those months, before moving to yet another state after her graduation.

I assured her that, especially these days, people are totally used to married college students and that no one would find it unusual that someone is temporarily living apart from their spouse because of that, or because of job concerns. But she is still nervous about how to handle questions about that, and is worried that it will seem "weird" to other people. Does anyone have any stories to share, or possible responses if awkwardness arises?

MadMadge43

• MadMadge43
  • Super Hero!
  • Etiquette is making others feel special
Re: Long distance marriage?
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2008, 02:34:50 AM »
If people are rude enough to comment, just say it's worth it and will make things better in the long run.

If they continue to question give them the ice glare.

Alida

• Super Hero!
  • Lady Jedi
    • Alida's Journal
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2008, 02:39:58 AM »