Author Topic: Yes I'm fat ... and  (Read 4551 times)

Oxymoroness

• I have a PhD in Crazy Math
    • Wrightbrain Design
Yes I'm fat ... and
« on: July 15, 2008, 12:15:12 PM »
I'm pregnant!

Granted, I'm not a small girl, and I never was. I have gotten better about taking charge of my weight and even managed to halt the rapid gain. I know when things aren't going in the right direction and I've learned how to do my own course correction.

Since getting pregnant, my whole world has changed food-wise. For the very first time I actually have a metabolism, not to mention a functioning hunger switch. It's truly lovely. I'm hoping this stays even after pregnancy. (But I'm not holding my breath.)

Cue to last night.

DH and I are grocery shopping. I'm trying to figure out what bagel I can actually keep down (2nd trimester and still nauseous in the mornings ... lovely ...) and DH convinces me to try one of the "healthier" options. We have a long-standing joke of DH saying to me, "It's hard to keep you healthy!"

I laugh, and then Nosey Lady who's walking nears us chimes in, "Oh yes, I've lost thirty pounds all by myself by eating healthy." She then begins to lecture me on what I need to do/eat in order to get "healthy."

Yes, I'm not small. (See above.) And yes, that's fairly obvious. Worse, I feel huge and I don't look pregnant. Somewhere in my addled brain I'm convinced that once I look pregnant, I won't feel so bad about feeling huge. This lady's lecture wasn't helping. (And frankly, none of it was new information to me ... not that she knew that of course.)

So I interrupted. "I'm pregnant."

Nosey Lady just looked at me and said, "Oh, you should follow your doctor's advice then." And we were finally able to walk away.

Gee, thanks lady.  ::)

M-theory

• cybernetic loving
  • Super Hero!
Re: Yes I'm fat ... and
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2008, 04:21:59 PM »