Author Topic: Would like advice regarding handling customers at work  (Read 3649 times)

snugglegirl05

Would like advice regarding handling customers at work
« on: June 24, 2009, 06:45:23 PM »
I work as a parking attendant inside a booth for the Visitor parking garage at a university.  The parking office is over the garage.  I am a contract employee working for a parking company which has a contract with the university.  Neither the parking office nor the parking company has trained me regarding handling difficult customers. 
Visitor parking is small.  It only has 55 spaces.  The parking office is responsible for reserving parking spots for guests arriving at the university for events.  One spot to the entire garage can be reserved.  According to the parking office, when the entire garage is reserved or when there are only enough spaces for the guests on the event list, I cannot let anyone else park.  According to the parking office, guests here for events have to tell me what event they are here for.  I cannot ask them which event they are here for.  The only solution I can offer is alternative parking at the several parking lots near the campus.  According to the university president, a sign stating reserved cannot be posted.  My job is to inform the customers that the garage is reserved.
I would like advice regarding handling customers who are
•   Obnoxious
•   Pushy
•   Frustrated
•   Rude
As well as…
•   Customers who have attitudes
•   Customers who complain about not being able to park
•   Customers who whine about not being able to park
•   Customers who return after not finding alternative parking wanting to know why they cannot park, & sometimes telling me they need to park
•   Former alumni who donate to the university
•   Customer's asking why is the garage reserved or which event the garage is reserved for