Author Topic: Amazing household hints  (Read 1486 times)

Luci

• Super Hero!
Re: Amazing household hints
« Reply #15 on: December 11, 2013, 11:00:19 AM »
Mine is for laundry. I've posted before about people using stinky detergent which lingers in the machines and my clothes reek. I've found if I pour vinegar into the machine with my soap, no smell!

I think vinegar can damage elastics or anything with stretch, so it's probably one to be careful with.

I have been using vinegar instead of fabric softener for at least 8 years. I wash everything in the machine and never have had elastic or Spandex fail on me. Bras, sox, waistbands on undies, controltop hose, sweatpants - everything is fine. (And soapfree!)

cwm

« Reply #16 on: December 11, 2013, 11:05:59 AM »
Using newspaper instead of paper towels somehow prevents your windows from streaking as much when you clean them.

Doesn't work on mirrors. And coffee filters, which are supposed to have the same effect, just streak worse. But for some reason, newspaper works.

Also, vinegar and baking soda make a very effective drain bomb for when you have small clogs.

When I worked in the grooming salon, we had a wall of mirrors and a wall of windows. People would save their newspapers at home, and they never streaked our mirrors.

LadyJaneinMD

« Reply #17 on: December 11, 2013, 02:12:17 PM »
Using newspaper instead of paper towels somehow prevents your windows from streaking as much when you clean them.

Doesn't work on mirrors. And coffee filters, which are supposed to have the same effect, just streak worse. But for some reason, newspaper works.

Also, vinegar and baking soda make a very effective drain bomb for when you have small clogs.

When I worked in the grooming salon, we had a wall of mirrors and a wall of windows. People would save their newspapers at home, and they never streaked our mirrors.