Author Topic: You X? I guess you believe Y!  (Read 20990 times)

RebeccainGA

• formerly RebeccainAR
Re: You X? I guess you believe Y!
« Reply #105 on: October 12, 2009, 04:04:51 PM »
I get tons of those -

You're a minister's wife? You must be brainwashed and subservient! (no, she'd hate that - and besides, until we met I was a pantheist/leaning Jewish and still am open to lots of religions)

You're a lesbian? You must hate men! No, only those that make those kinds of comments. Or ask to watch. My butch partner isn't your type, thanks!

You work in IT? You must be a programmer! No, actually, I do data modeling and tool creation. Can't even code HTML without a program. But thanks for playing!

You play video games? You must be into the violent ones! And have really fast reflexes! No, I play the Sims. A lot. And FarmTown/Farmville/Yoville/Cafe World. No reflexes there, bub. Sorry

You have a theatre degree? You must be so artistic and diva like! No, my degree is in technical theatre. And my M.B.A. is in technology management. Wanna see me puke? Try to get me up on stage.

You have an MBA! You must make a ton of money! I wish. Lowest pay on my team. Only one with a master's degree.

Sleepingmediocre

« Reply #106 on: October 13, 2009, 02:00:41 AM »
personal favorite:

"You don't want kids? You must HATE CHILDREN!!" (I don't hate them - I just prefer to borrow them for awhile, and then give them back.)

Firecat, this is EXACTLY how I put it when people ask me about my kids!  "Oh, I don't have any of my own.  I just borrow other people's."   ;)

pendragon1980

« Reply #107 on: October 13, 2009, 09:30:56 AM »
I got this one last night while at work. I thank medical TV shows for this one.

In the patient's defense, he was enjoying a post procedure pain medication.

"You're a nurse?, you must date/play scrabble with all the doctors"

Yesh.

whiterose

• From the good old US of A!
« Reply #108 on: October 13, 2009, 03:07:28 PM »
personal favorite: