News: IT'S THE 2ND ANNUAL GUATEMALA LIBRARY PROJECT BOOK DRIVE!    LOOKING FOR DONATIONS OF SCIENCE BOOKS THIS YEAR.    Check it out in the "Extending the Hand of Kindness" folder or here: http://www.etiquettehell.com/smf/index.php?topic=139832.msg3372084#msg3372084   

• November 24, 2017, 02:54:57 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Asking guests to remove shoes  (Read 116298 times)

Hoofer

Asking guests to remove shoes
« on: December 20, 2006, 12:12:30 PM »
Hello Everyone
This is my first time adding a post, but I certainly used the various stories on Etiquette Hell and the discussions to help when planning my wedding this year and hopefully avoided any pitfalls! 

So on to my question/dilemma…
We have just recently laid new carpet upstairs in our home and are planning in the new year to renovate the existing parquet flooring downstairs.  I would like to start asking people to remove their shoes on entering our home.  Obviously this would not be appropriate in all cases, but as a general rule I would prefer if people did.

Do you think this is reasonable?  Would you be insulted as a guest?

Many thanks
Rosalyn

behindbj

Re: Asking guests to remove shoes
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2006, 12:15:27 PM »
DANGER!!!  DANGER WILL ROBINSON...DANGER!!!

Seriously, this is a dangerous topic (why, I have no idea).  It's gotten kinda ugly when it's hit the boards before and I am hoping that the remaining folks on this board (who appear to be reasonable folk) don't lose their minds.

That being said:

It's your house.  If you would like people to take their shoes off, then ask people to take their shoes off.  Some of my friends do that when people visit and some don't.  It's neither here nor there to me.  I do request that people do tell me when I have to take my shoes off in their home, at the very least so I wear substantial socks (or bring slippers).

behindbj

Betsy

• Just a little crazy
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2006, 12:31:30 PM »