Author Topic: But you're an RA!  (Read 5604 times)

Namárië

But you're an RA!
« on: November 23, 2009, 03:02:20 PM »
I just remembered this old story, and thought I would share one of the few times I wasn't a pushover.

In college, I was a Resident Assistant (RA). In case you're not familiar with the term, it means I was a student leader, made sure people followed the school rules, and tried to maintain some semblance of harmony in my area. There's a lot more, but that's the basics.

One night the year I worked in an apartment building, I got a knock on my door at 2:30am. This was pretty common, usually people wanted to complain to me about someone else's party. I dragged myself out of bed and answered the door to see one of my residents.

Resident: "Can I use your printer?"
Me: (still kinda foggy) "What?"
Resident: "Can I use your printer? I need to print out a paper."
Me: "No, I'm sorry."
Resident: "But you're an RA!!!"
Me: "The computer lab opens at 6am. You can print your paper out there. Sorry, I can't help you. Goodnight."

Then I closed the door and went back to sleep. I was pretty amazed with myself in the morning.
Competence is a trap!
I mostly don't make stuff, but sometimes I do: http://initiationcreation.blogspot.com

Pinky830

Re: But you're an RA!
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2009, 03:30:48 PM »
Oh my word, did you just bring back some memories!! I wasn't an RA, but my roommate was. Most RAs at my school had private rooms, but while I was there, the college built a complex of 4-person townhouses that were for seniors, and the RAs there had roommates.