Author Topic: From E-Hell Blog: Santa Wants To Toss Eldest Daughter Into Ehell, Too  (Read 9402 times)

Asharah

My younger, by 5 years, brother has three children, two girls, one boy, while I’m in a civil partnership with my SO of 10 years. Brother works as an engineer, and his wife as a wedding dress designer/maker. I’m a senior manager working in the Capital and my partner works part time in a shop.

My brother’s family and my parent’s and his wife’s parents live about 5 hours away by transport (no I don’t drive) and I visit maybe twice a year depending on work and schedules. Normally I pay a visit to my parents over the mid or late December during which my brother brings the kids down for a few hours to talk and say hello. During this period I’ve traditionally given each of them their Christmas present.

As my brother’s children have grown up they have gotten a bit more “grabby” each year when it comes to Christmas presents. About 5 years ago I was emailed a list of “Eldest Daughter (ED) would like ….”, ”Youngest Daughter (YD) would like ..”,  and “Youngest Child (the son) YC) would like …”. This wasn’t a “please choose one item from the list” this was a request for over £300 of items per child. Now OK I have a reasonably good job, but I live in the capital and costs are commensurately higher. To be asked to shell out £900 for presents was pushing things. Additionally some of the items were large (YS wanted a drum kit !) and trying to travel with those would be nearly impossible for me. Asharah's comment: If the parents were the ones sending the e-mail, I would put more blame on them at this point.