News: There is a new Ehell Kindness Project!  Check it out in the "Extending the Hand of Kindness" folder or here: http://www.etiquettehell.com/smf/index.php?topic=139832.msg3372084#msg3372084   

• August 26, 2016, 09:21:31 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Not Going To Happen 'Cause I'm Not Harry Potter (Impossible Patron Requests)  (Read 1073640 times)

bridalviolet

I knew that, but then again I'm an avid amateur astronomer.  The way Clyde Tombaugh discovered Pluto is equally fascinating - he did it with pictures, a machine called a blink comparator, and his own eyes.  I've seen replicas of the discovery photos, and it's amazing that he caught such a small, dim object. 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clyde_Tombaugh

I'll stop now.

And Robert Heinlein named the first settlement on the moon after Clyde Tombaugh in Have Spacesuit - Will Travel.

I love that book!!!

VorFemme

• It's too darned hot! (song from Kiss Me, Kate)

I knew that, but then again I'm an avid amateur astronomer.  The way Clyde Tombaugh discovered Pluto is equally fascinating - he did it with pictures, a machine called a blink comparator, and his own eyes.  I've seen replicas of the discovery photos, and it's amazing that he caught such a small, dim object. 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clyde_Tombaugh

I'll stop now.

And Robert Heinlein named the first settlement on the moon after Clyde Tombaugh in Have Spacesuit - Will Travel.

I love that book!!!