News: There is a new Ehell Kindness Project!  Check it out in the "Extending the Hand of Kindness" folder or here: http://www.etiquettehell.com/smf/index.php?topic=139832.msg3372084#msg3372084   

• June 01, 2016, 02:43:40 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Need help with letter addressing safety in child care for social group  (Read 488 times)

kherbert05

• Trees downed in my yard by Ike and the clean up
I am part of a group that gets together for talks on various social issues and science topics. Child care is provided during these talks. A year ago we had a situation where 2 sets of parents nearly came to blows and threats of police reports because 1 child hurt another. Both kids medical diagnosis that affect their behavior. The injured child is Autistic and has severe visual impairments. The child hurting others has Oppositional Defiant Disorder - at this time. I think at the time of the incident his diagnosis was autism. As a teacher I know that diagnosis change because children are on such a steep learning curve that the differences between normal, lagging behind, and serious problems can be shades of gray.