Author Topic: You're going to kill it!  (Read 3945 times)

boxy

You're going to kill it!
« on: May 23, 2010, 03:28:07 PM »
I would like to know if I could have handled this situation better:

I was hard pruning a massively overgrown holly bush (basically cutting it down by half to three quarters) in my front yard.  An elderly woman drove up, rolled down her window and hollered, "You're going to kill that holly!!!"

Shocked, I replied, "I hope so!" and went back to pruning.

Should I have reminded her that I'm a professional landscaper (yes, we who are in the business often allow things in our own yards to become overgrown)? 

Amava

Re: You're going to kill it!
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2010, 03:32:33 PM »
Hahaha, perfect!
But I think it's idle hope. I have holly too, and if you trim it right down to the ground with a hacksaw, a few months later it's all over the place again.

boxy

« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2010, 03:40:16 PM »
Absolutely!  Holly's are very difficult to kill - something I wasn't trying to do.  I just wanted to get it cut back to a more manageable size.  What bothered me was some woman, without benefit of knowing my plan, stopped to deride what was intended to enhance the yard!  I really wanted to tell her to mind her own business or at least ask me what I was doing (in a conversational tone) rather than pulling up and shouting like she did.

taxing

« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2010, 04:12:35 PM »
I think you did well, I'm sure some people would have replied more along the lines of "I'll kill you if you don't mind your own business!"

veryfluffy

« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2010, 05:46:08 AM »
At first I was wondering why this was in the "I'm afraid that won't be possible" section. And then I realised it's because it is almost impossible to kill a holly. So that is what you should have replied:

"You're going to kill that holly!"
"I'm afraid that won't be possible, but I am doing my best!"

Delia DeLyons

« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2010, 08:16:39 AM »