News:

• April 19, 2018, 02:46:41 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Trouble making strawberry preserves, help!  (Read 5473 times)

heathert

Trouble making strawberry preserves, help!
« on: June 01, 2010, 04:34:28 AM »
This is my first attempt at making a batch of strawberry preserves and it didn't work out.  :'( My problem is that the mixture didn't 'gel,' and I can't think of anything I didn't do according to the recipe. Has anyone had this happen and did you figure out the problem? Would it help if I include the recipe?

I'm so disappointed.

Heather
« Last Edit: June 02, 2010, 07:53:32 AM by heathert »

cicero

Re: Trouble making strawberry preserves, help!
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2010, 06:42:47 AM »
please post the recipe as it might help.

in general, if this is the first time you are making preservers/jam, it could be that - like my first attempt - you are so afraid to over cook that you are under cooking. that's what happened to me. also - sometimes the jams 'gell' a bit after the cooking process stops.

Created by MyFitnessPal.com - Free Weight Loss Tools

mechtilde

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2010, 08:08:25 AM »
Strawberry is one of the hardest preserves to set, because the berries are very low in pectin.

You might want to consider using either a recipie with "additional" fruit, such as lemon juice to increase the pectin levels, or use additional commercial pectin to help it set. Also, how did you test the preserve? Did you just take it to the correct temperature, or did you do either the flake test or cold saucer test as well, because strawberry does have to cook for longer than other low pectin fruits- sometimes you have to do it for so long that you find that it has "caught" a little on the bottom.

Could you show us the recipie you used? That might help.
NE England

Lynnv

« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2010, 09:41:24 AM »