Author Topic: Can You make My Friend One?  (Read 4250 times)

Miss Marple

Can You make My Friend One?
« on: June 24, 2010, 07:51:16 PM »
A couple of weeks ago my daughter's friend Hazel asked me if I could crochet her a butterfly. I said: "I will think about it."

Well I got some sparkle/glitter cotton that I have never worked with before and to test it out and familiarize myself with it, I made Hazel one. it took 15 minutes.

yesterday I gave Hazel her butterfly and she was very happy with it.

This morning before school, Hazel calls me over and says: "Can you make one for a girl in class 1D."

Thanks to my Ehell training, I said "No." I did use a pleasant voice.

Usually I am warm and fuzzy with the kids, I think she was surprised by my reply it rendered her speechless.

I would please like your opinion(s), is it harsh to use it albeit with a nice voice on a 6 year old? Because I am now feeling a tad mean and grouchy.

Little Jo

Re: Can You make My Friend One?
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2010, 09:04:05 PM »
No it was right because next thing you know there will be orders from all over the place.  I had that problem with my niece Aoife I made her a necklace next thing it was Jennifer, Grace and Holly want one too. I released I would end up making necklaces for the twenty nine girls in Aoife's class so I said "No that was a one off special for you."
Maybe I should not have said that but I did not have ehell at the time.

Amava

« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2010, 09:07:12 PM »
I said "No that was a one off special for you."
Maybe I should not have said that but I did not have ehell at the time.
How so? I don't see anything wrong with what you said.

Miss Marple, I don't think it's mean to not want to crochet for just anybody.

Shortcake

« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2010, 10:27:16 PM »
Miss Marple, you handled the situation just fine. I wouldn't have done anything differently.  You are not being grouchy at all.