Author Topic: Making a Donation in Someone Else's Name  (Read 3246 times)

Wonderflonium

• DO NOT BOUNCE
  • Super Hero!
  • I have a PhD in horribleness.
Making a Donation in Someone Else's Name
« on: November 24, 2010, 01:55:31 PM »
I know we've talked about this before, but I want to make sure I'm absolutely clear before I do this.

My best friend has a charity about which she is passionate. As part of her Christmas gift, I'd like to make a donation in her name. I'm fairly certain it's OK because I know for a fact that she supports this particular charity whole-heartedly. However, I'm so tired that I just read the subject of another thread as "Sibling as a Wedding Favor?", so I want to make sure I'm not confused.  ;)
The status is not quo!

Surianne

• Super Hero!
    • Prince ShimmerShine Moondream's Blogging Adventure
Re: Making a Donation in Someone Else's Name
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2010, 01:57:54 PM »
I think it's a great gift, since you're sure she supports the charity and is quite enthusiastic about it.

I'm generally pro-charity gifts, though, so I'm curious to hear from other posters who normally don't like them, and whether it makes a difference because the OP is 100% certain her friend will enjoy the gift.

Also, Sibling as a Wedding Favor could be a really, really awesome thread.

Outdoor Girl

• Super Hero!
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2010, 01:58:48 PM »
Supporting HER charity as a gift to her is OK, since you indicate she is 'passionate' about her chosen charity.  Supporting YOUR charity as a gift to her, not so much.
I have CDO.  It is like OCD but with the letters in alphabetical order, as they should be.
Ontario

DangerMouth

• Work as if you were in the early days of a better nation.
  • Super Hero!
  • Everybody Gets Ice Cream!
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2010, 02:06:27 PM »