Author Topic: Giving it away. Do I ask again, Etiquette question.  (Read 1222 times)

Only me

Giving it away. Do I ask again, Etiquette question.
« on: January 07, 2011, 05:07:05 PM »
Hi,

BG: I have been attending a community common interest group for the past 4 years. Its a group of about 24 people, but the core is 18-20. I am friends outside this group with about 5 people, as we go out to dinner after the weekly get meeting is done.

I live in a large community, but as its only grown in the past 5 years, most people who have lived here no each other. In the past 5 years the town's population has tripled so as mentioned, the ones that grew up here now each other.  End BG.

Out to dinner in December Member 1 (M1) mentioned that another person we know thru the group (AP), had a flood at the basement apartment she lived in with her two kids. They lost everything and don't have insurance. I actually really AP and kind of know what she's going thru (as far as loosing everything). So I called the phone # I had for her and left a message that stated I heard what happened and want to help. Have some extra stuff around the house that she could have (clothes, small appliances, maybe some furniture), just call me. Especially since it happened on Dec 20, right before Xmas.

After a day, I called M1 and asked for AP's work # and it was given, no questions were asked. (AP owns part of the business and deals with public, so a call from me at work is not a big thing). But I couldn't get thru, so I dropped by the business on Dec 24, unfortunately hey were closed. I went back again after Xmas, bought some product :) and talked to just her. I told her what I had done and said she didnít get the message, but it was really nice. At this point her business partner came up, so the subject was dropped and I gave her my business card. Advised her to think about it and contact me.